1 and 2 December 2022

15th German
Sustainability Award.

Since 2008, the GSA has been giving sustainability in companies and in society a big stage and presenting the best concepts against global warming, overuse of resources, species extinction and social division. This year, the award will be presented in Düsseldorf for the fifteenth time.

Role models for tomorrow's society.

The 15th German Sustainability Award will be presented on 2 December 2022 at the MARITIN Hotel in Düsseldorf -.
the award ceremony of the 3rd GSA Design will take place the night before on 1 December 2022.

The award ceremonies have developed into distinctive formats. They draw their power from the seriousness and reputation of the award, relevant content, fascinating personalities, emotional moments, and appreciation for the different responses to common challenges. The goal is to achieve the broadest possible reach with strong narratives of sustainability for award winners and partners. 

Among the guests are personalities from business, politics, culture, media and personalities from important multipliers for the idea of ​​sustainable development. After an online event in 2020 and a hybrid event in 2021, we hope for a full hall again at the award ceremonies in the anniversary year 2022 on 1 and 2 December at the MARITIM Hotel Düsseldorf.

To Billie Eilish From Space.

Superstar Billie Eilish will receive the Honorary Award of the German Sustainability Award. She will receive the award virtually on Friday evening during the award ceremony of the 14th German Sustainability Award. She will be honoured by German astronaut Matthias Maurer (ESA) directly from the International Space Station ISS.

These were the Honorary Award winners of the 14th GSA.

Besides Billie Eilish, Oscar winner Forest Whitaker will also receive his Honorary Award virtually. EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and climatologist John Schellnhuber will be present to receive their awards on stage. Joss Stone, Chris de Burgh – both also Honorary Laureates – and Nathan Evans will provide musical accompaniment to the ceremony.

Second round for the German Sustainability Award Design.

After a successful debut in 2020, the German Sustainability Award Design was presented for the second time on the evening of 2 December 2021. 25 winners from a wide range of industries accepted the award virtually or on site at the MARITIM Hotel Düsseldorf. Honorary prizes were awarded to climatologist Prof. Hans Joachim Schellnhuber, actress Lily Cole and the #sicherheim campaign. The evening's musical act was soul star Joy Denalane.

Portrait von Bundespraesident und Schirmherr Frank-Walter Steinmeier 2017.

Politically grounded.

The first patron of the German Sustainability Award in 2008 was the then acting Federal President Prof. Horst Köhler. Subsequently, Federal Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel took over the patronage for several years. This was followed by a number of politicians who supported the award with speeches and welcoming addresses. The patron of the tenth anniversary in 2017 was Federal President Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

Pictures of the award ceremonies 2008–2021