The blue carpet in Düsseldorf

Impulse in difficult times.

Since 2008, the DNP has given sustainability in companies and in society a big stage. The award ceremony was always a unique celebration for 1,200 guests. But in 2020 everything will be different.


Ursula von der Leyen, Olaf Scholz and Gerd Müller at the GSA.

EU Commission President Dr. Ursula von der Leyen, Federal Ministers Olaf Scholz and Dr. Gerd Müller, Nina Ruge and supermodel Toni Garrn are among the guests at the 13th German Sustainability Award on December 4, 2020 in Düsseldorf.

13th German Sustainability Awards.

The DNP awards ceremony on December 3 and 4, 2020 in Dusseldorf will focus on outstanding achievements in sustainability and the people who make them happen - well staged and informative. In 2020, more than ever before, the right format counts when it comes to honoring successes in times of crisis.


Grafische Darstellung des Coronavirus

Responsible production.

In light of the corona pandemic, not only the requirements valid in December will be fully complied with. We are also taking all reasonable precautions for the safety of our guests, participants and those involved in production. The award ceremony will be a public event with live guests and a combination of real and virtual elements. The "Aftershow Party" will not take place.

Fighting for change.

The GSA honorary awards are presented to prominent figures that promote and strengthen the idea of sustainability on a nationwide or even international level, be it in the context of their professional activities or through voluntary commitment. They draw the attention of the media to the other award winners from companies, local governments and research.

Entertainment that takes a stand.

Every year, artists from the global music scene light up the stage and take a stand for ecological and social issues, raising their voices to fight for positive change. They bring the radiance to the evening that all finalists and winners deserve.

Past guests have included Annie Lennox, Marius Müller-Westernhagen, Cat Stevens, José Carreras, Art Garfunkel, Jamie Cullum, Nelly Furtado, Fanta 4 and the Scorpions.

Sustainable Set.

Right from the start, the set design of the awards ceremony relies on projections, the intelligent use of media and a simple screen made of recycled PET bottles. The podium and all wooden elements are stored and reused. State-of-the-art LED light and projection technology save energy and resources.


Portrait von Bundespraesident und Schirmherr Frank-Walter Steinmeier 2017.

Politically grounded.

The first patron of the German Sustainability Award in 2008 was the then acting Federal President Prof. Horst Köhler. Subsequently, Federal Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel took over the patronage for several years. This was followed by a number of politicians who supported the award with speeches and welcoming addresses. The patron of the tenth anniversary in 2017 was Federal President Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

Um unsere Webseite für Sie fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.